Al-Hilal wins the MBS League title beating Al-Faisaly in the final

The SPL championship is the 3rd title in a row for Al-Hilal, as they stormed past Al-Faisaly 2-1 at King Fahd Stadium on Monday evening.

Riyadh — Al-Hilal raised their third Saudi Professional League (SPL), or MBS League, as they stormed past Al-Faisaly 2-1.

This is the club’s third title in a row after winning an intense encounter at the King Fahd Stadium on Monday evening.

Al-Hilal retained their SPL title in the 30th and final round of matches, ending the exciting league season. Al-Hilal has become the most successful team in SPL with this win. The club now holds 18 championship titles in its history.

Previously on Thursday, Al-Hilal defeated Al-Fateh 3-0, playing only ten players. With this, Al-Hilal and Al Ittihad were positioned level with 64 points each.

However, Al-Hilal had an advantage in the head-to-head matches; all it needed was a victory to take the fifth SPL title in six years.

With Monday’s final round of matches, Al-Hilal emerged at the top with 67 points; while its rivals Al-Ittihad could log only 65 points following a goalless game with Al-Batin in Jeddah.

The fact that they failed to strike true in the important match gave Al-Hilal the pass to the title with their pulsating display Monday.

Top 10 Footballers of All Times Saudiscoop

The Nigerian striker Odion Ighalo gave a superb match-winning performance by scoring both goals for Al-Hilal. His first strike came in the 7th minute, and he scored again in the 64th minute.

Both the goals were a superb finish to clinical and crucial passes from the Brazilian Michael Delgado.

The lone goal of Al-Faisaly came in the form of a header from Clayson in the 70th minute.

10% Discount on 1 Bed 2 Beds 3 Beds 4 Beds Apartments